The Region

Where you live in a future with centuries of the past

The Tâmega e Sousa region, as established by Law no 75/2013 of 12 September, covers an area of 1,831 km2, corresponding to 8.6% of the Norte region, and includes 11 municipalities: Amarante, Baião, Castelo de Paiva, Celorico de Basto, Cinfães, Felgueiras, Lousada, Marco de Canaveses, Paços de Ferreira, Penafiel and Resende.


With a population of around 410,000 inhabitants, a population density of 223 inhabitants per square kilometre, corresponding to 11.4% of the population in the Norte region, it is one of the youngest regions in the country.


It is characterised by the growing concentration of population in urban centres and municipal seats and the depopulation of rural and peripheral areas, as is the case in the rest of the country. Except for a few municipalities, the majority have a population density above the national average.


The heterogeneity of human occupation in the territory is visible, with the municipalities with the greatest industrial momentum - Paços de Ferreira, Felgueiras, Lousada and Penafiel - showing clearly higher values than the rest of the Norte region.


A transition territory between the Porto Metropolitan Area and the hinterland of the Norte region, Tâmega e Sousa is essentially an industrial region, although the diffuse and heterogeneous territorial pattern, with no clear and differentiated zoning between urban, rural or industrial areas, presents scenarios and landscapes very marked by rurality.


Even though the business fabric consists mostly of SMEs, there are large industrial units, generally associated with large foreign investment. The footwear, textile and clothing, furniture, metalworking and construction and materials sectors stand out.



Comunidade Intermunicipal do Tâmega e Sousa

Avenida José Júlio, 42, 4560-547 Penafiel
+351 255 718 340 [national landline call]


Copyright © 2022 Comunidade Intermunicipal do Tâmega e Sousa. All rights reserved.